Office Morale

As HR professionals, what are some things you do to boost your employees' morale?  Once in awhile we have a potluck here and (I'm still fairly new to my company) I guess they do a Halloween party and Secret Santa exchange.  Do you also do anything to recongize things like Black History month or Women's History month? 

Comments

• 11 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • [quote user="gi_janearng"]As HR professionals, what are some things you do to boost your employees' morale?[/quote]

Pay them more?   [:O]

• I think we do a lot. For employee birthdays we buy lunch for the whole office. we give gift cards for local restaurant chain on anniversaries (handed out at a staff meeting to acknowledge the employees contributions). Monthly competition for employees to participate in putting articles on our intranet ($100 gift card to best buy for top 5 contributors). We do white sox  / cubs games a few times a summer. holiday party, etc
  • [quote user="TXHRGuy"]

Pay them more?   [:O]

[/quote]

Come on TXHRGuy, haven't you said before that paying someone more isn't always going to make them happier or improve morale??!!!???

Depending on the culture of your organization there are lots of things you can do to help morale, both costly and not so costly.  Here are somethings we do.  We provide coffee, tea, hot chocolate, bottled water, sodas and snacks.  May not seem like a lot but there are many organizations that don't provide any of those things.  We also have a celebration on the last Friday of every month for those that celebrated birthdays during that month.  We normally get some sort of treat (ice cream, cake, brownies, ice cream sundaes, etc.).  In the summer we get a suite at the local Triple A baseball team stadium and invite all the employees and their families.  The cost is not as expensive as you would think and we are supporting a local organization.