Manager writing on the employee's W-4

I need some help with this one and I have not been able to find anything in my usual places of resource.  I have a manager that makes this practice mandatory for the recruiters that work under her.  I work for an employment agency (conditional job offers are given prior to interview and completion of payroll material) so the recruiter is supposed to write ON the person's W-4 during their interview with the candidate.  She demands that they write what their employees put down on their W-4.  So the recruiter has to reiterate and write ON the W-4, Married - 2 or Single - 0 and then have it circled.  The manager's reasoning is to make sure that the recruiter has looked to ensure the W-4 is complete.  I want to be able to tell her to STOP this ridiculous and controlling process but I need something legal to back me up.  Help!!

Comments

• 8 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • I am not a payroll expert by any means. However, I previously worked for a Fortune 500 company with their own legal department. We were told to NEVER write on an employee's W-4. We couldn't even write on it the date we entered the data into the payroll system. You may want to go to the IRS website to research the topic.
  • I doubt there's anything illegal with it as long as the employee signs the W-4 in their own handwriting.  They are signing, "Under penalties of perjury, I declare that I have examined this certificate and, to the best of my knowledge and belief, it is true, correct, and complete."