Any innovative ideas for disciplining employees?

While we have a progressive disciplinary policy in place, senior management has not lent me support. I have been asked to consider/find other measures that might teach employees to adhere to policy. I am new to this field and wonder whether I can 1) dock a salaried employee for a day of pay, 2) dock a vacation or personal day for hourly or salaried, 3) cut back an hourly employees hours for one week, 4) withhold a monthly commuter bonus that is received by all staff, whether hourly or salaried, 5) take away the paid 1/2 hour of lunch. P.S. we are a small company, without an in-house lawyer

Comments

• 2 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • A few pieces of information would be helpful:

1. What state(s) are you in?
    2. What industry is your company engaged in and what types of work are engaged in by its employees?
    3. How many total employees (individuals who receive paychecks: don't count non-employed owners) work for the Company?

Your item 1 can be very risky, depending on the particulars of the case.  Docking exempt employee salary pay by individual days is much more easily accomplished within the regs than it used to be but the new rules are still designed to focus on infractions of serious rules barring things like sexual harassment and workplace violence and not for use with respect to infractions of, say, your attendance policy.

Your item 2 will depends on what state you are in and, potentially, what you have in your written policy (assuming you have employee handbooks and signed receipts for their distribution).