Coffee-1 bag or 2?

This is a real HR Coffee Corner question --on coffee!

As the new person in HR, I was just given the responsibility for supplying and monitoring the coffeemakers.

A few caffeine-addicted people here have been using 2 and 3 bags of coffee in the filters instead of one.  Pretty potent.  Now I am getting complaint e-mails about this from people who want their coffee 1-bag normal.  I have sent out an email and put signs over the machines that only 1 bag should be used, but the problem continues. Any suggestions about what I can do short of installing a Nanny-cam or switching everyone to tea?

As a newbie, I do want to keep within the budget assigned to the beverages, and these extra bags will push me over!

I also have the problem of people drinking glasses of the milk designated for the coffee, but that's another problem. 

Comments

• 7 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • We too had the coffee (and milk) problem.  What we did is get rid of the traditional coffee maker and purchased a Flavia beverage system (one that makes individual cups of coffee, tea, hot chocolate, etc.).  It has actually been more cost effective than the coffee maker/bag system and people are able to customize the strength of their coffee by choosing a stronger type of coffee.  It is also a lot less messy.

It's not perfect, but it did solve that particular issue.  Haven't figured out how to solve the milk problem, yet.

Best of luck.

E.