FMLA Eligibility

I have an employee who will not have been employed for 12 months until July 23. She needs to go out on FMLA the first of July. She is not eligible the first of July, but would be eligible July 23. Would she qualify for any part of FMLA or how would this work?

Thanks.

Comments

• 11 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • Please help me with this guys! Don't be shy!
  • Ok, I'll take a stab. My best guess is that she is not eligible for FMLA since she will not have completed the full year requirement at the time she will be off work.
  • I'm no expert, but I think the employee will be eligible for FMLA on July 23rd. Between July 1st and the 23rd, it would all depend upon how much leave time she has available, and what your policies for non-FMLA leave are. How do you handle non-FMLA leave? I believe July 1st to 22nd should be handled that way, and then begin FMLA (assuming she is still off work) on 7/23. Unfortunately, this method could cause the employee to be allowed off more than 12 weeks. Anyone else want to comment?
  • I vote no. If the ee applies for FMLA for an event beginning on the day you say she needs to go out, she is not eligible for the reason you gave, she's not been there a year. If she re-applies at a later date, the date on which she might have otherwise been employed 12 months, she is still not eligible because it is the same event for which she went out on a date when she was not eligible. I'm counting on the rationale being that she must have met the eligibility requirements on the beginning date of the event for which she went out. Good question. Where's the lawyers when you need one??