Exempt/non exempt Salaried employees

We are in the medical field. We have just opened up a new company in our organization. When I received the final signed contracts that the Doctors received I noticed that 2 of the Doctors contracts were written with a salary but it also states the hours that they will work and then anytime over that they will be paid a designated hourly rate. They also hired a part-time pa and wrote in their contract that they would also receive a designated hourly rate if they worked over their scheduled 30 hours which is under the 40 rule for Florida. Is this going to cause DOL problems for me I have never had this happen before usually our contracts state the salary and fall under the salary exempt status.

Comments

• 4 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • Ty, I work in the medical field as well and all of our physicians and mid levels are on contract and salaried exempt. We are bi weekly and only receive 80 hours per pay period. I'll have to look into this to give a better reply, but just off the cuff, if the employee signs an agreement I don't see where you could get into trouble with the DOL. Also as a side note. Where are you? Im in Central Florida. I have been trying to pull together other HR professionals in this location to start a monthly meeting to share ideas and experiences, especially those in the health care field. Would you be interested? Just email me at [email]drobertson@cffhc.org[/email]

Thank you.
  • It reads to me as a salaried EXEMPT CONTRACT, which goes well beyond the FLSA and concerns for minimum wage. Your concerns are for the "time keeping element" which might cause any other employee to loose EXEMPT STATUS.

Call your Federal Wage and Hour folks in Florida, I think they will give you comfort that the signed contract for a PROFESSIONAL EXEMPT employee will take priority over any audit that they might conduct.

PORK