Confederate Flags

Comments

• Have been lurking on the forum for the last few months, thanks for all of your insight xhugs - I think I have an additional question to ask on this topic.

If we require the removal of the confederate flag because of what the symbol means to a protected class - and not in connection to a complaint (other than perhaps our own) do we also prohibit other symbols in the workplace that have, historically speaking, been offensive to a protected class, but have significant meaning for another employee?

My example here is the display or wearing of the pentatuch (5 pointed star, commonly associated with "satanism" by popular culture, but in historical practice a spiritual symbol for many pagans predating the middle ages)-there has been much talk about this item in my office, but no direct complaints yet -I'm loath to jump in with what I know (philosophy/religion minor)as I'm relatively new at this plant - and I'm not sure I have the right/obligation to ask the employee to stop wearing the item. The biggest problem is that I believe this will reflect in promotion/retention decisions from upper management toward this employee (we have a few "easily offended" individuals in upper management - staunch religious/political beliefs - the "everyone else is wrong" type) - so it would be in their best interest career wise to not offend, but it does appear that it would infringe on their right to free speech.

Should the symbol be prohibited, as it is recommended the flag should be, based on some of the arguments I've read here?

Any grand comments? I'm at much of a loss here.

ladyz - hrqueen, glass fabrication industry