Slander - Please Help

I work for a small organization and I have had several problems with the office manager/supervisor since I began my employment here. I posted "supervisor is a bully". I have just been informed that this person has been saying very bad things about me,lying to me and about me to the president of the company. I am a very professional HR person and I have done absolutely nothing wrong. I do my job and that is all. If my job happens to get this supervisor/office manager spoken to about her attitude, that is not my problem. My problem, is I am afraid that this person is trying to get me fired - I need to know how I can protect myself from slander.

Comments

• 9 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • IF what you say is true, that your supervisor has "bad-mouthed" you undeservedly to managers in your compnay, then you should try and discuss the matter with a manager in your chain of command..may be the supervisor's supervisor.

Do you know what the supervisor is saying about you? What information that you have would demonstrate to the manager that what your supervisor is saying is not true? What you need is a supportive ear in the managerial chain since from what you said the CEO is getting a completely unfair report on you.

I would say talk to your supervisor first, in a postive and friendly, indicating that you realize that theyre are reasonable differences between you two, but you do want to work with her regarding the job, and want to see what both of you can do together to help improve the situation.

I would say that, but if you already posted something that called your supervisor a "bully" and she knows that, then that pretty well ends that discussion.