Commission

Last Friday, I was confronted with a Sales Employee about when our President of our Company would start paying commissions again.  I am fairly new to the company and don't work in HR.  In fact we don't have a HR Department anymore.  This company went from 146 employees to 6 office employees and 10 crew members in 1 year due to the economy.  We work in Construction. 

There is not money for commissions anymore.  We barely financially squeeze by.  I have seen the reports. 

However, this employee who was in my opinion very unethical and very agressive when it came to describing his flustration.  He claimed that he signed an agreement that he was owed the money for his commissions last year and wants to start getting paid from them.

My problem is this same employee I believe has been feeding the competition very important documents and information about our company.  We are missing files and he is always the last person to leave the office.  And is the only person with friends of the competition.  And it seems with jobs we are always competiting with the same competitor.  No proof though. 

2 questions...Can this employee be fired if it is proved that he has been feeding the competition information about our company?  Even though, he is owed the commission. 

And #2 We are forecasting another 2 years before we are in anyway able to pay out on these commissions.  I feel that we should come up with a new agreement or perhaps a new job description that describes no commissions.

Any feedback would be much appreciated.   

Comments

• 3 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • [quote user="jackie123"]2 questions...Can this employee be fired if it is proved that he has been feeding the competition information about our company?  Even though, he is owed the commission.