Safety Incentive Programs - Any Ideas?

I am trying to find Safety Incentive Programs to review. We are looking to implement a Safety Incentive Program for our construction crews that use quarterly incentives.

Thanks!

Comments

• 16 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • In the past, when I worked in the manufacturing industry, we would do things like buy lunch for the shift that had 0 accidents/near misses each quarter, give something to the person that reported a potentially unsafe condition, etc.

One thing to consider about Safety Incentives, is that they sometimes have the opposite result.  You want your employees to report any accidents/near misses immediately so that you can correct the situation and make sure it doesn't happen again.  If you have an incentive for the team that has 0 accidents/near misses then someone may not report an injury just so they are not the person that ruins the streak for everyone else.  We actually stopped the lunch each quarter because of this. We found out that someone had not reported something they should have because they didn't want to ruin lunch for everyone else.

Some other things we did to promote safety:

• Different message each week about a safety topic. Bulletin board talked about the issue in great detail. Shift supervisors would spend 5 minutes at the beginning of one shift covering the topic.  This was in addition to annual safety training requirements.
    • Safety Day once a year.  Had a catered lunch for everyone.  Reviewed our company safety policy.  Had contests & prizes.
    • Big bulletin board with number of days this location has gone without an accident/injury
    • Safety committee

• ITHR is right--peer pressure NOT to report is extreme, especially if the incentive is a good one.  That's why we dropped our program (through an outside vendor).  We did keep the big flip calendar of days without lost time.

I like the idea of the Safety Day and luncheon!  May run this by upper management.