Sample Rejection Letter

I am very new to the recruitment/HR process with no training and need to write back an applicant who's experience was good but not an exact fit for what we're looking for.  I want to be as vague as possible due to the laws that exist...can anyone provide a sample of how I would structure this email?

Thanks!

Comments

• 8 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • we use something like this.

Thank you for your interest in the position of …

Although your background and qualifications are impressive, we have decided on a candidate whose experience is a better match for this position.

Thank you for your time and good luck in your search.

• The letter we use is very similar to what Regdunlop gave you in the previous posting:

Dear Candidate,

<?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office" /> 

Thank you for taking the time to apply for a X position with X Company.

We are fortunate to have many well-qualified candidates apply for this position.  After careful consideration we regret to inform you that we can not offer you employment at this time.

Please accept our best wishes and thank you for your interest in X Company.

Sincerely,

Human Resource Department

• Here is ours -- it is a little more "flowery" than some: 

On behalf of all of us at L Inc., thank you for the interest that you expressed in our ___________ position.<?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office" />

It is very beneficial for an expanding company such as ours to have qualified applicants to interview for positions as we grow.  I thoroughly enjoyed our interview and learning more about you and your interests.