payment of mileage rules

Okay, I now think I have the hang of this - so here is my next question. Tried to delegate to payroll, but came back to HR!!

Does anyone have a good definition of when an employer should and shouldn't pay employees mileage?

Specific examples:
1) exempt manager drives from one job site to another in the course of his job - does he get mileage reimbursement or is this a requirement of his job

2) non-exempt employee works for company at two different locations - 1/2 day at one location and 1/2 day at another - do they get paid mileage between locations (they are on the clock while driving) - another question here is are they covered under worker's comp while driving

3) employee has option of using company car, but chooses to drive own car - should they get mileage reimbursement

I am new to this company and they do things a little differently than I am used to.

Your comments are appreciated! Thanks!

Comments

• 8 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • A lot of this is pretty much up to you.

In example 1, the mileage between locations (but not to and from work at the beginning and end of the day) are considered reimbursable by the IRS. You can reimburse the employee and then claim it as a business expense. Or you can tell the employee he/she is on their own and they can claim it on their personal taxes. Or you can do something in between (you pay them 30 cents a mile and they claim 20 cents for example).

In example 2 the answer is the same as example 1.

If they are driving for your benefit, and especially if it is during work hours, it is covered by work comp.

The IRS doesn't care if they had the option to use the company car or not, as the mileage becomes a tax deduction somewhere.

This all comes down to you and your company's culture, budget, etc. We reimburse all employees for business driving at the IRS rate. We try to limit driving though to just a few (outside sales, etc) to reduce our liability and work comp expenses.