What Did You Do Before HR?

The Facebook thread in the main forum got me wondering about your past professional incarnations. As I mentioned in that thread, I was a reporter before I came to the M. Lee Smith family. Before that, I was going to teach college, but the time and debt that went into getting my master's convinced me it was time to stop with the higher ed and get a job.
All in all, it's probably better than my poor father thought I was going to do when I majored in English and Philosophy in undergrad. I remember him saying, "You know you're going to need to get a job one day, right?" Such a prophetic man.

So forumites, what did you do before you were an HR hero? Or did you always dream of one day navigating the waters of FMLA, PTO, and bickering employees?

Comments

• 22 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • I thought HR was the department where you filled out employment applications and let the company know what your tax info was.

I originally planned on teaching, but life got in the way and I went back to get my degree in my 30's. I figured I would make more money faster in accounting (I also mistakenly believed things would be more black and white so easier.) I never imagined HR would fall into the picture. Turns out I like it. Thank Goodness!
  • I was an assistant dining room supervisor for 3 years. An invaluable experience with a fantastic supervisor who taught me so much about motivating others.
  • As a college dorm RA, I worked with a lot of HR majors and mocked them constantly. I even had a 'Notice of Infraction' placed in my file for attending the dorm staff Halloween party wearing a large cone on which I had created a parody of Maslow's Hierarchy of Needs. Surprisingly, not all involved beer, pizza and sex. No, wait a minute - they did. Sorry.