Part time status

I am a FT HR Administrator and my boss is looking for me to start training for the HR Manager position. My concern is the flexibility I have now, I work 40 hours but I do a split shift. Does anyone know if there are part time HR Managers? If so, are they salaried or hourly?

Comments

• 5 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • You work 40 hours now, but when you take the HR Manager position you want to work less than 40?

I'm sure there are part-time HR Managers. It would be an exempt position. If it were me, I would pay a salary and deal with "you're not putting in enough hours" issues with discipline, not pay.

I think that is where you are going with the question. If not let, me know.
  • I am also not sure what you mean. I am CFO and HR Director. One way to look at this is that I am part-time in both positions, (although I seem to put in enough hours to be near full-time at both). But as Stephen indicated, either position would be exempt in a stand alone capacity, so neither would be paid hourly.
  • I agree with SMace. Why would would an exempt person not have flexibility in their job? Exempt positions have more flexibility than part time. Essentially a part timer is giving up a lot in benefits and salary just to get that same flexibility as an exempt manager has.
  • The reason I had asked was because our boss is a very strict. She is not flexible at all with salaried Team Members. She wants you to put in 40+ hours, but has a problem when you have to leave early every once in a while. It's not only me she does it to the rest of her group. We all hate it.

A~
  • I sometimes take things granted. I have always had freedom over my schedule, mostly because I take responsibility to make sure the work is done - if that means an all nighter or working all weekend, then that is what it means. It also means if I am done Friday morning at 9:00, I can leave.