incentive pay for non-exempt positions

Looking for ideas on ways to provide bonus/incentives to inside sales staff and NOT impact hourly overtime calculations. Any ideas?

Comments

• 3 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • Most anything, except Wal-Mart certificates, will impact their earnings. I don't know that it would impact their overtime earnings tho. You need to call your Federal Wage & Hour office. Look under US DOL, Dept of Labor, Wage & Hour.
  • Welcome to the Employers Forum, LGS!

I'm not a lawyer, but I'm pretty sure that productivity bonuses and incentives usually have to be included in their regular rate of pay when you calculate their OT rate.

But here's some info I found on bonuses that don't have to be included in calculating the regular rate of pay:

"Bonuses that are based on a percentage of the employee’s total earnings —
    This type of bonus must be based on a percentage of the employee’s
    total earnings for the bonus period, including overtime pay. A bonus
    that includes only regular total earnings must be discretionary to
    avoid being included in the calculation of overtime.
    ➣ Discretionary bonuses — A discretionary bonus is a payment made to
    the employee under circumstances and conditions completely under
    the employer’s control — such as whether to pay a bonus and, if so,
    its amount.The test for determining whether a bonus is discretionary
    hinges on whether the employer reveals the existence and amount of
    the bonus close in time or far in advance of the payment date."

I think the regulation covering this is:
    29 C.F.R. §§ 778.208 to 778.215

Good luck!

James Sokolowski
    HRhero.com