Health Plan Broker

I attended a seminar sponsored by the Liberty Benefits Group. They were talking about saving money by re-writing our contracts with our TPA and perscription benefit manager as well as other cost saving ideas.

What they said sounded good, but almost sounded too good to be true.

Has anyone heard of Liberty Benefits Group ( or Liberty Health Group)? Are they for real, can they do what the claim to be able to do?

Comments

• 8 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • I've been a broker for 22 years and have never heard of Liberty Benefits Group. My hunch is that they will take over and become "broker of record" and move you to a TPA and other carriers for PBM and receive a cut/commissions from the arrangements. What other benefits did they say you would have by moving to them?
    Not to be too cynical, but if you stay with your current TPA, they probably won't lower their fees because of a new broker, same with your PBM. If they offer "off the shelf" fully insured products, then no broker can get a "deal" unless they are rebating, which is illegal in some states. If your plan is self-funded, then be careful of new numbers; these are based on experience and trend and shouldn't be "trifled" with, without good reason. Tell us some more about this company and its propositions.
  • We are self funded with about 80 employees.

They were pitching an HRA with high deductible product (nothing new). However they said they would work with our group to be able to negotiate with doctors and pharmacies to be able to get discounted rates on services and perscriptions by paying cash at the time of service rather than waiting for the bill to be processed by the TPA. Similar to an FSA reimbursement arrangement I think?