Need advice on a Summary Plan Description

We are a small five person company. Someone recently informed me (I am somewhat new to HR.) that I need to give everyone a Summary Plan Description for our Health, Dental, Life, LTD insurance.

How do I go about this? What does it have to say? I called my insurance companies but they have been no help at all.

Does anyone have any examples they can email to me?

Thank you!

Comments

• 10 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • Since you aren't going to be able to create SPDs, examples won't help much. The SPD basically has to explain the policy in common english so the employee can understand the benefit as opposed to the master plan document which is more 'legalese'. Call your agent and demand (you can do it nicely at first) SPDs for your employees. The agent should provide this service with a smile.
  • Agree with Hunter. Your insurance company is responsible for preparing the SPDs for their plans. In instances such as yours where their probably isn't alot of custom language the insurance company would provide their standard SPD with some type of insert describing anything specific to your plan. If your insurance agent is unwilling to help, contact the insurance company directly.
  • Normally, the SPD (certificate) is sent to the employee at home, at least that's what they do here. The master contract (with the employer) should be at your office. If it's insured, they have to provide these.
  • is the SPD different from the Certificate of Insurance? Everyone gets the cert. of ins. from the ins. company. My understanding was the SPD was a document from us saying that this the payment (if they pay), how to enroll, dis-enroll, etc.

• The certificate is the SPD in an insured plan. You do not have an additional obligation to provide a document, all of the enrollment information should be in the SPD. In fact, it's probably not a good idea for the employer to write something more, and risk contradictions and confusion.