Termination and Work Comp

This is my first time asking a question here and I would greatly appreciate any help you guys can give me. A few weeks ago one of our employee's slipped and fell managing to cut his hand in the process. The employee was concerned so we sent him to the ER for evaluation. The cut turned out to be nothing major and the employee was sent home with a Tetanus shot and some antibiotics. After a long weekend off (Memorial weekend), the employee returned to work and worked for a week straight with no complaints. The following Monday he called in to work claiming he had to move that day and would not be able to work. The employee had called in many times and had been counceled repeatedly about his absenteeism and so the decision was made to terminate him. Upon informing him of his termination he immediately became irate and started complaining that his back was hurting and that he was going to file work comp on it. Come to find out he did complain about his back during his trip to the ER but had never told us anything like that. The work comp company is handling and paying the back injury claim but now we have discovered that the employee is planning on sueing us for wrongful termination based on the work comp claim. Help!

Comments

• 5 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added