Narcolepsy / Sleep Apnea

I have a ee that admitted to his supervisor that he suffers from Narcolepsy / Sleep Apnea. The supervisor and I are concerned that his position as a code enforcement officer is in jeparody. I would appreciate any assistance in taking any action!

Comments

• 8 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • I am no expert, but believe these would be two different conditions.

Just curious as to why this is jeopordizing his position?
  • Will one of you gurus with more expertise jump in here to help?
  • My understanding was that narcolepsy was simply falling asleep "suddenly"..you might be standing or you might be sitting! I understood that sleep apnea was a breathing problem that occurs as you sleep. I didn't think that one necessarily meant you had the other.

I would think that a person in a "driving" job..or handling moving equipment..or those type jobs could have a problem for sure. And of course, most employers would have a problem with anyone sleeping on the job!

Did ee offer medical verification - ask for some consideration - or indicate he was on medication to control the condition (if that's even possible)?

• Sleep Apnea is actually a very danegerous condition and can severely affect the quality of sleep one gets. I read somwhere that people have come close to death in their sleep by just not breathing for too long a time. One of my friends has it and has to wear this rather complicated device on his face when he goes to sleep.
    I suspect that if the ee is falling asleep at work it is not due to narcolepsy but due to lack of sleep.
    My friend has no problems now that he has the device. Can the ee go to their Dr. and find some kind of solution there?