FMLA abuse

We have an employee at our facility that has been taking her elderly parent to the doctor for her doctors appointments. Unfortunately for her supervisor the women takes the entire day off even though it is not medically necessary for her to spend the entire day with her mother. She and her sisters share the responsibility of transporting her mother and she has a nursing service that looks in on her mother. I am new to this particular facility but was under the impression that unless the extra time that she is taking is in conjunction with a doctors insturction that there is a medical necessity for her to do so, the entire absence would not be covered under the FMLA. The mother does not live with the employee, she lives on her own and with other care providers assisting the employee in the transportation of the mother I am not completly certain that she should have been granted FMLA in this situation in the first place. Please let me know what you think. Has anyone else ran into a case like this. Since this FMLA was already in place when I came to this facility, I am hesitant to take action until I know for certain what that course of action should be.

Comments

• 3 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • I'm assuming that someone has spoken with this employee about why it takes a full day to take her mother to the doctor. First impression says that she made sharing arrangements with a sister, so she has attempted to reduce the amount of interference with her own job. This is intermmittent FMLA and you're counting hours away from work ... Is it affecting her ability to perform her job? Is this a daily, weekly or monthly appointment? Is it really worth pursuing?