URGENT!! Working for free without employment authorization

Help! Can employees work for free (basically volunteering) if their work authorizations expire as a way to hold their position open while waiting for work authorization? As an HR professional, my reaction was of course not. However, the employees immigration attorney says that is perfectly legal. The company is sponsoring the employee for a permanent residence application and just filed the labor certification form. What kind of liability does the employer face? Where can I find any info on this?

Thanks for any help!

Comments

• 6 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • I am not an expert, but my first response is that an immigration attorney concentrates on immigration and not the FSLA (if he/she really did say that). If you cannot have an employee who works for you volunteer extra hours and not get paid overtime, how can you have one just work for you for free, even if you are sponsoring them? I am sure this is an FSLA violation. I would not take a chance. My take would be: if the employee's attorney is so sure, he should be the one to point to the regs where it is ok. Otherwise, the employee can't work. I would be willing to hold the job open for a certain period of time, but then we would replace the employee.

I hope someone more knowledgeable than me can help you out here. Forumites?

Good luck!

Nae

• I'm no expert either, but I would say that it may be legal from an immigration standpoint and illegal from an FLSA standpoint. If you are using volunteer work to offset a paid position, you are working an employee for free as far as FLSA is concerned. Free is way below minimum wage. I'd stop that one right away.