I-9 Document

Happy New Year everyone.....

I am in the middle of conducting an I-9 audit. We attach copies of the I-9 documents to the I-9. In conducting this audit I stumbled on a copy of an employee's social security card that contained a type over on one of the numbers in their social security number and the actual social security number and her name are not centered. Obviously not geniune on it's face.

What is my obligation at this point? This employee has been employed with us since 1998. Can I verify her social security number with the social security administration at this point, as long as I have her consent and authorization for a background on file? If so, surely this can't be perceived as discriminatory? I'm new with this employer and find it hard to believe that one of the previous HR managers accepted this document.

In addition, if I was audited, would they call me on the carpet for not correcting this?

Tina Marie

Comments

• 22 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • Tina Marie -

Under IRCA provisions, you can only reverify I-9's in the event that an employee was working here in the US on a status with a defined end date. When that end date approches, you can reverify that worker's eligibility (section 3 of the I-9 form...see the IRCA section on the DOL website). Other than that, I know of no other scenarios where the government allows you to reverify I-9s...you can have your EEs fill out new I-9s in the event of merger or acquisition, but I don't think that applies to your situation.

In any case, here is some helpful information from the USCIS regarding the discovery of false I-9 documentation:

"DISCOVERING FALSE DOCUMENTATION