Mandatory retirement

Hi All,
This is my first time using this forum. I'm really hoping some of you can advise me on this issue. My organization is a large multi-specialty medical group practice with over 60 physicians and 30+ mid-level clinicians (physician assistants, nurse practitioners, mid-wives, etc). The senior leadership is considering whether to impose a mandatory retirement age for the physicians and other clinicians. The issue is we would rather have someone retire (and be able to plan for it) then have to wait until issues arise related to competancy and have to terminate them. Can we legally impose a mandatory retirement age? Thanks.

Comments

• 5 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • [font size="1" color="#FF0000"]LAST EDITED ON 06-10-03 AT 01:39PM (CST)[/font][p]I don't think you can have a mandatory retirement age. The ADEA prohibits this except for certain positions such as airline pilots, air traffic controllers and other certain public safety positions. Maybe physicians fall into this "other" category, I don't know. I would consult with counsel before even considering this. x:-/