Making Exceptions to the Rules

In my agency we have a PD who each month takes off three to five days planned depending on when she decides to pick the dates to take off. Her time off is because she is having her "period". She is unable to work. Prior to these "days off" she will send out a memo to everyone this effects and informs them why she is at home. Low and behold, being the Personnel Manager,I am not on her list of people to inform. My question to all of you should I be requesting some form of medical documentation from this employee stating why she cannot perform her job each month for the same reason? Also, should I be crediting these hours under FMLA? I am new to this agency and it is apparent that she has been doing this for sometime and the ED has allowed it. He has a huge problem with the word "No". My ED believes in making exceptions to all rules regardless of what they are.

Any suggestions,ideas or comments will be helpful.

Thanks!

Comments

• 9 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • If an employee is missing work to the extent your employee is, due to stated illness, she should be given the FMLA paperwork. It sounds like to me that she has wallowed out quite a rut for herself, as we would say in the South. No matter what you do with the FMLA, it appears she has a long standing right of passage to time off each month during her period. She probably parks in the same spot everyday too and nobody messes with her stuff in the breakroom.
  • We have a policy that if you are off for three or more days, you must have a doctors release to return. YOU NEED THIS POLICY. I would give her the physician's statement for FMLA and see what the doctor says. She could be milking it. If she is missing three to five days per month, she is off sick for 40 - 50 days per year. This is unacceptable. Either she is on FMLA or she should be gone.