Random Drug Testing

Would like to hear from others who conduct random drug testing. How do you conduct the selection process for the "random" test? Do you test company wide? Do you see discrimination issues if we chose to only "randomly" test blue collar workers?

Comments

• 5 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • I've been doing random testing for about 3 yrs and it's been working quite well. My first advise would be to not selectively test pockets of the employee population........Rationale? The credibility of random testing will be greatly enhanced if ALL employees are participants in the process. CEO on down. Selecting only blue collar workers will give the impression they are being singled out and that you're trying to "catch them", vs. stressing your desire for a drug free workplace and therefore, everyone's included. The message is critically important!!!!!! Certain industries are permitted to test less than the standard 25% that DOT requires, so your local counsel may be able to help identify that percentage. Each month we run a report that randomly selects "X" number of names from the payroll roster and these employees are then randomly tested with both an oral swab (for alcohol) and a urine specimen with a 10-panel screen. We do not do an invasive procedure (blood test) to avoid the addt'l trauma of "needle phobia". Create a ploicy and then follow it each month. Mgt training is essential as these folks are the ambassadors for the program and have to undertand the org's objective. They are the messengers of "the news" and have to all be on the same page. Finally, rotate your monthly test date. Employees will begin mapping out your frequency and if you're consistent, you've defeated your intent to be drug-free.
  • I've just completed a random testing procedure that's being reviewed by our legal counsel. I work for a local government entity in North Carolina. The only employee "test population" we will subject to random testing are: