Pay In Lieu of Benefits--Legality/Pitfalls?

I work for a small company, and we are duscussing an optional Pay in Lieu of Benefits program. Essentially, in exchange for increased pay, an employee may elect to refuse the following benefits: health insurance, vacation time/pay, holiday time/pay, sick time/pay, funeral leave/pay, and other paid time off. Other benefits (e.g., FMLA, WC, etc.) would not be affected. Each employee may choose to paticpate or not participate. Interested employees may elect to participate only upon hire or on their yearly anniversary date. Please comment on any legal concerns to consider or other pitfalls involved with such a program. Have any readers tried this?

Comments

• 7 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • Sounds like a cool idea and appears to be a money saver. I'm no lawyer but it sounds like you've covered all the bases. To play it safe, get the views of a labor/employment attorney and talk to your state's department of labor.
  • Understanding that we already have a section 125 plan in place....we've moved to offering fulltime w/o benefits for many of our hard-to-recruit positions. It has been successful altho the majority of interested participants are those with less experience who are willing to forego the health & welfare benefits....and opt for a higher hourly wage. We're still in a trial-period and will then assess whether to do this organizationally or not.
  • [font size="1" color="#FF0000"]LAST EDITED ON 08-07-01 AT 11:57AM (CST)[/font][p]The company where I work does some of this. Employees can refuse health insurance in return for a small monthly payment. It's good for employees who are covered under their spouse's insurance. And, on our anniversary date, we can cash in excess leave (but we have to keep 40 hours).

I wouldn't want to have employees with no paid leave whatsoever. That would encourage employees to come to work when they're sick and contagious. They'd do poor work and might make many co-workers sick.