Benefit Premiums

My company, like the majority of others, pays a large portion of the employee's monthly health benefit premiums. The employee pays a small portion for single coverage. If an employee terminates, a pro-rated amount of the company paid portion is deducted from their final paycheck. Reason given is because the company pays their portion at the first of the month. If an employee resigns, the company should be able to re-coop a portion for the remaining days in the month that the employee will be covered, but no longer employed.

I am relatively new at my place of employment as well as being responsible for benefits administration and have never heard of this practice before. Is this a normal practice? Please help.

Comments

• 6 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • Aside from whether your practice is legal (that would depend on the W&H laws of the State where the employee works) I would guess that the cost in labor to: calculate, monitor the deduction, and explain it to terminating employees, would far outweigh the amount of dollars recovered. Another negative is the appearance of giving the employee a final kick for having the audacity to leave.
    Just out of curiosity, do you find that most employees leave at the end of the month?
  • Thank you for your response.....I will research with the DOL to get the legatities of this policy.....to answer your question, I cannot determine a pattern that shows employees leaving at any particular time in the month.
  • I agree with Don's response. One possible solution is to specify in your health insur plan document that coverage ceases on the last day of employment (similarly to life insurance). This will bring other issues such as commencing COBRA in the middle of a month and at what point do you refund employee deductions, but it will serve to d/c coverage with termination date.