HR consulting

Someone recommended me to do an HR consulting project. I work fulltime and my employer has
no objection.

What are the pitfalls I should watch out for?

Comments

• 4 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • Feel free to contact me by E- Mail - [email]shugh@westernu.edu[/email] I was a consultant for 13 years before going to work for one of my clients two years ago.

• I'm not sure what type of project you are consulting on so my advice is pretty general. First and foremost, to be an effective consultant, the client has to be able to share business problems with you. This means you have to be absolutely trustworthy with confidential information. Many consultants get into trouble because they talk about their clients (or in your case your current employer), their clients' projects or problems or they share what one person in the company told them with another person in the company. Never give a client as a reference or list them as a client without talking with them first. Some of my clients do not wish for any one to know they have used a consultant or that they have had problems they needed help with.

Another temptation is to go in and tell the client everything that's wrong in their operation. Unless you stumble over something unethical or illegal, be careful to stay within the scope of the project. You don't want the client to feel like inviting you in only creates more problems.

Ask lots of questions in the beginning and listen more than you talk. Do not make snap decisions about what the client needs. You will need to learn a great deal about the business quickly. Every company is different and what they need is diffirent. What works at one company is not what works at another. You will have to learn about the company, the management and the employees in order to tailor make a solution that is specifc to that client. Effective consultants are not "one size fits all."