Unique Situation Regarding Employee Not Giving Notice

I work as a Department Head within a small nonprofit organization. To give you some background, the majority of the staff have left due to an unprofessional executive director who seems to thrive in an environment of conflict, chaos, and lack of planning. There is no morale and most people (including myself) are looking for a way out.

With that said, I have an employee who has confided in me that she been offered a wonderful position with another company. She has encountered numerous conflicts with the ED, all of which were unsolicited. The past three employees who have resigned have attempted to give appropriate notice on good terms, but have all been told to clean out their desks and leave immediately. She wants to also give notice, but is fearful that she'll be booted out the door immediately, costing her two weeks of pay. Unfortuately, I think she's leaning towards resigning on the spot at the end of the "would-be" notice period, but I can't say that I blame her for playing it safe.

Ironically, our HR position has been vacant for several months so I'm not sure what to tell her as her supervisor. I feel like this is a no-win situation for anyone. From an HR perspective, are there any ideas on how to maneuver a less hostile situation? Thanks!

Comments

• 1 Comment sorted by Votes Date Added
  • [quote user="flyingsolo228"]

I work as a Department Head within a small nonprofit organization. To give you some background, the majority of the staff have left due to an unprofessional executive director who seems to thrive in an environment of conflict, chaos, and lack of planning. There is no morale and most people (including myself) are looking for a way out.