2-3-2 Shift ??'s

So, I'm looking for some insight and hoping someof you might be able to provide some. I'm an HR Manager for a facility of about 150 people. Being a smaller facility, it doesn't take much absenteeism and/or vacations for us to notice people are missing. In fact, last month, we had right around 60% of our posted OT for coverage go unfilled. From talking with employees, the majority make the claim that they'd come in for OT if they got paid more for doing so. But based on the actions we see, this has nothing to do with money ... they're paid well and they really do know it. If it were truly about money, I can't imagine people would call in on Fri/Sat of their long week and give up the built-in OT pay. What their actions tell me is that most value the time off more than the money. We currently operate on a 2-3-2 schedule ... their long week consisting of M/T - on, W/R - off, F/S/S - on. One suggestion that has come up is shifting the workdays by one, meaning that the long "weekend" worked would consist of Sat/Sun/Mon. The thought behind this being that mentally, it'd be a shift in knowing that on any given week, you're going to be off either Friday or Saturday, giving the perception of a more "normal" work schedule.  

Have any of you dealt with this? I can handle 20-30% unfilled OT, but 60% is just too much. The prospect of forced OT has come up, but I'd much rather get creative and come up with some other way. I think as soon as you get to the point of "You're going to do this because I said so" ... you've lost.

Comments

• 9 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • I'd think twice about forced OT with shiftworkers.  When shiftworkers are overtired, they make mistakes, productivity goes down, and absenteeism goes up.

You didn't say when the OT is scheduled. Are you tacking it on to the end of the shift or are you bringing in workers on scheduled days off?