Use of personal cell phones during work

Does anyone have a policy on use of personal cell phones during regular work hours? Some of our production employees are receiving calls regularly on their cell phones and it's bothering other employees and obviously interfering with work productivity.

Comments

• 8 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • We have a short and to-the-point policy, in memo form, prohibiting the use of cell phones by plant personnel during working hours. It is a safety issue (and a productivity issue) and we took a stand and stopped all cell phone use.

• Our policy is more stringent. All cel phones must be turned off during working hours (both in the factory and the office).
  • I work in retail and we had a problem with employees stocking shelves with one hand and talking on their cell phone with the other. Didn't impress the customers much. So we instituded a cell phone policy.
    The policy became a problem when it was noted among staff that the GM and his second-in-comand walked around with their cell phones practically glued to their ears. When I explained that they used them for business purposes only
    a number of the staff said they had overheard the S-I-C placing bets on the floor with his cell.
    Sigh.
  • Thanks for your responses. Technology sure changes the workplace and the policy handboook!
  • Stewarth, if you are a SHRM member you can get a very good Cellular Phones In The Workplace Policy by going to http:/www.shrm.org/hrtools/policies_published/

Or, I will be happy to fax a copy for you to review. I am in the process of coming up with a policy now, and will take into account things like safety issues for our drivers, production issues for our service personnel and customer service issues for our clerical/admin personnel.